top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Webb

Ellen Lawrence

Updated: Jan 25, 2023





Hey Ellen, so tell me…

What's a typical day look like for you?

I like to start my day with a quick 15-20 min yoga practice to wake my body and mind up, followed by a complete breakfast (got to fuel the brain!). I don't have my first cup of coffee until I'm sat down at my workstation. As a project leader, my day usually has a lot of meetings with the client and internal teams, depending on the phase of the project we're in. As the SA or Lead consultant, I am usually involved in strategies around overall solution design, ALM, Security, Ways of Working of the project team, and DevOps. In my last project, I had a lot of involvement working with the FSCM team to integrate CE and FCSM using Dual Write which was an exciting learning opportunity for me. In addition to project work, I may have some 121s with direct reportees or other conversations around my team member's needs, projects, and so forth. I regularly shut off around 6/6:30 pm CET and head off to the gym. My mind isn't right without keeping my body healthy!


What is your favourite power platform app or feature and why?

I started working with CRM 2011 and it has been a journey as the platform has expanded so much! My favourite thing about D365 is a general statement - but I love how configurable it is now and how it really has become a low-code/no-code platform. You can truly get creative with solutionising without having to write code. It's also great to see clients embracing this, as many want to adhere to what can be achieved with the OOB solution and configuration.


What do you love most about working in this industry?

Probably the endless possibilities. Technology changes every day, and Microsoft solutions are continuously evolving. Sometimes it's a real challenge keeping up but that means there is always something new to learn. Also, what hooked me on consulting was that I love working with different clients - learning about various businesses and industries, and discovering how Microsoft Biz Apps can help solve a wide variety of business challenges across industries. Lastly, the people in this community are incredible. I've worked with some amazingly talented people, who are also great team players and dedicated to doing the right thing on projects.


How did you get into the tech industry?

Well, I went to uni for Human Resources actually. Worked in HR for a couple of years, then ended up getting a gig selling Autocad software to government agencies. The aspects of that job that I enjoyed were relationship building and helping clients find solutions to their needs. While in that job, I started going back to school for my MBA and had a classmate who was in the Education department at PowerObjects. She said "hey, why don't you come to PowerObjects and try consulting. We're looking to hire a few people who have work experience but not D365 consulting experience, and see if we can grow consultants in-house." I was one of 4 fresh faces and got about 3 weeks of CRM bootcamp training, and then it was off to the races! Our little group of guinea pigs proved to be a success, so PowerObjects continued to create an official CIT (Consultant in Training) course and it continued to develop into what it is now (and now is a part of HCLTech).


What single bit of advice would you give a newbie to the industry?

Don't be afraid to ask for help. Being new to consulting/the industry you have to balance being proactive and trying to think through solutions yourself, but also knowing when to ask for help. Speaking for myself, I love to see my junior team members grab onto a challenge and run with it, but I also like to make sure they know that I am happy to be a part of the process. If you're working on something, and as you go you have some questions or want to double-check with a senior member of the team, don't be afraid to. You don't have to wait until you get to the end of a task to ask your questions. It doesn't do anybody any favours if you are very unsure about some things while working on a task, and work on it for days without asking for help. Chances are your progress will be stalled or dragged out and the end result won't be as good as it could have been. If you have felt that your senior project team member doesn't have time or has not been helpful, seek out help from other people on your team - I'm sure there is someone willing to help! Oh, and that's my 2nd piece of advice - build relationships with people across levels in the organisation.


If you had an autobiography, what would you title it?

Americoreana (That reflects the unique blend of my life which has been spent embracing various parts of my identity and multiple cultures. I was adopted from South Korea, raised in America by an American family, and now am living in Spain immersed in Spanish culture and life with my Spanish husband)


Name one hobby or other interest you have outside of tech?

Travel - my husband and I run a travel and photography blog (ourbigjourney.com)


Name one thing that you would like to have achieved within the next 5 years.

To deepen my network here in EMEA. I'm originally from the US, but have moved to Spain, Australia, and back to Spain since 2018. I'm settled in Spain now because my husband is from Valencia, and so now I want to work on deepening my network in EMEA as I had quite a strong network in the US. Specifically, I want to get involved in Women in Leadership networks.


Do you have any role models within the industry? If so, could you name a few?

There are a few people that shaped my D365 career early on and I always think of them when reflecting on the opportunities and success I have had. It all goes back to where it started, with the original leaders at what was PowerObjects North America. These leaders truly inspired me and what I learned from them, I have carried with me all these years. Some of those learnings include what it feels like to love what you do, what top visionary and inspirational leaders look like, and taught me what leadership styles and skills I would want to emulate myself.


Great answers, thanks Ellen!!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page