top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Webb

First 2023 Tech Trump Card - Stuart Baxter!

Updated: Feb 27, 2023

Tech Trump Card release

Stuart Baxter's Tech Trump Card standing majestically
Stuart Baxter's Tech Trump Card standing majestically
 

Hi ALL!


Look at that majestic-looking Tech Trump Card above...↟ Yes this was all created on PowerPoint from scratch! I'll show you how soon.


I...am excited to introduce to you, the first Tech Trump Card of 2023 and the star of this post: Mr Stuart Baxter!!


Stuart has been regularly blogging about the new and upcoming features in Power Platform, and his posts are short, clear, concise and very very helpful > What's new in Power Platform blog: Overview | LinkedIn.


He has incorporated his knowledge sharing with an app he built for his son to catch Pokémon - The Pokédex App. I personally love this, as I find that this makes it easier for readers to understand the use cases for the features highlighted in each post.


Without further delay, here is Stuart's mini interview and Tech Trump Card. Please have a good read or listen and find out a little more about this fab member of our community.


Stuart Baxter's Tech Trump Card
Stuart Baxter's Tech Trump Card

Hi Stuart, so tell me...

What's a typical day look like for you?

Wake up around 8, have a coffee, and start work around 9. Catch up on emails, then meet with the team to discuss the day ahead. After that anything goes, I could spend the rest of the day in meetings or I might be working on a solution for my latest project.


What is your favourite Power Platform or D365 feature and why?

I really love the modern command editor for model driven apps, so quick to set up


What do you love most about working in this industry?

The community! I've met so many great people, who inspire me on daily basis!


How did you get into the tech industry?

Purely by accident! I was working for a large energy provider and applied for a job that was described as producing excel reports. It turns out that it was actually supporting a really old CRM 4.0 system. Eventually, the company decided to upgrade to Dynamics 365 Field Service, so I had to learn on the job. A couple of years later I moved into consultancy and fell in love with Power Platform!


What do you think are the top 3 most important skills/qualities to have in this industry?

Honesty, above all else. Creativity, and the ability to repeatedly ask "why?"


What single bit of advice would you give a newbie to the industry?

It's ok to not know the answer, as long as you are honest, and have the ability to find out the answer


If you had an autobiography, what would you title it?

"The man who asked why?"


Name one hobby or other interest you have outside of tech.

I love Lego, have done since I was a child, I also love exploring Scotland with my wife and son


Name one thing that you would like to have achieved within the next 5 years.

I'd love to be considered as inspirational as some of my community heroes!


Do you have any role models or people that really inspire you within the industry? If so, could you name a few?

Lewis Baybutt, Charlie Phipps, Kristine Kolodziejski, Paul Murana, Damien Bird, Paddy Byrne, and Chris Huntingford - who are all community superstars! My bosses Will Dorrington (I've never met someone who has so much energy and passion) and Mike Chappell, who is always a phone call or a message away when things get tough. Last, but by no means least, David Bradley, the man who inspired me, and gave me the confidence to take the next step in my career.



Thanks for your time Stuart, these are fantastic answers!


I completely agree, Lego is amazing. We are eager to get out all of our Lego for my 2 year old nephew, but are obviously having to wait a few more years before moving away from the big blocks.


Will Dorrington does have the most amazing energy. He gives you energy! His passion and knowledge is impressive and definitely deserves a shoutout.


I love that Stuart said 'honesty', 'creativity', and asking questions in his response to important traits. I completely second that. Creativity also wears lots of different hats I think. Being able to piece together the building blocks of an interesting and successful solution is just as creative as making things look cool.

Creative = creating

Creative = building

Creative = Lego building, right?!

I love that Lego is his thing and he is a Power Platform enthusiast.

Building from the Power Platform blocks and building from the Lego blocks. Such symmetry.☺️


Well, that's it for this one folks.

I hope you enjoyed getting to know Stuart a bit better and also the new Tech Trump Card format.

 

You can now submit an application for a Tech Trump Card and mini interview via the Tech Trump Card page on this site and you will join the waiting list and then become a part of the all-mighty Tech Trump Card collection along with Stuart!


Please share this post, like, comment, share and share.

Watch this space for the next post and for the next Tech Trump Card!

Thanks!

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page