top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Webb

The lovely Sarah Jones' Tech Trump Card!


Sarah Jones' Tech Trump Card banner
Sarah Jones' Tech Trump Card banner

Hey folks!

Hope everyone is good!

I am typing this up as I watch Star Trek. That's right...I love Sci-Fi!

And I'm also eating a naughty McDonalds....shh don't tell the fitness coach :/ :)


This last few months have been exciting with getting used to my new job, figuring out how I want to progress my career, and presenting virtually and in person.


I have been learning loads about PowerPoint (standard) and Figma also! I love them...love love love them. They are my happy places.


And for those of you eager for an update re the PowerPoint tutorials, I have nearly finished the first one and it will be released within the next few weeks! :)


Right, enough about me!

This blog post is very exciting! This next Tech Trump Card is of a special friend of mine, Sarah Jones!


Sarah is a fabulous person to get to know within the industry. We became friends straight away after our first conversation and I'm very grateful. I have been trying to convince Sarah for a while that she should sign up for a Tech Trump Card. As it is with many in the industry, her confidence about whether she deserved one or not, made her unsure. I believe Sarah is a fantastic addition to the Tech Trump Card collection, she not only helps others, but she also is great at getting a read on those she speaks to, which makes her a great friend and great at her job, she is passionate about the community, and loves learning from those in it.


So get reading everyone! And enjoy!


Hi Sarah, so tell me...


What's a typical day look like for you?

School run with my 11 (going on 25) year-old daughter and head to the Chester office, with gorgeous Welsh views!


Stand up with the team, check in with anyone who might need me through the day, and interview prep. Client review meetings, new client meetings. I'm lucky to be able to use the gym at lunchtime or go shopping in Chester.


Then planning, promoting VRTs, more meetings, and speaking to candidates about their next career move. No two days are ever the same!


What do you love most about working in the tech/Microsoft industry?

The community!

Having worked in different industries and other areas of tech, there is nothing else like the Microsoft community. Everyone is incredibly supportive, friendly, and non-competitive. I've made genuine friends through my VRTs and other community events. There are so many people who have supported me, I’ve been so lucky to make amazing friends who encourage me when I feel the imposter. To name just a few: Stuart Baxter, Keith Atherton, Laura Webb, Rory Neary, Jon Russell, Lewis Baybutt, Chris Huntingford, Charlie Phipps, and Craig White…I could go on! They’ve all been absolute cheerleaders and probably have no idea how much of a difference they’ve made.


How did you get into the tech/Microsoft industry?

I chose to move into general tech as a recruiter and accidentally stumbled upon Power Platform through my networking events during lockdown. It's changed my career and been my sole focus for the last 3 years!


What single bit of advice would you give a newbie to the tech/Microsoft industry?

Get involved in as much as you can! Don't be afraid to ask for help.


If you had an autobiography, what would you title it?

Learning to Juggle. Keeping calm, remaining positive, and true to myself and my values whilst managing a busy life inside and outside of work is something I've got very good at - learning most things the hard way!


Name one hobby or other interest you have outside of tech.

Cooking


Is there a little note that you would like to add for the community?

Feel free to contact me to discuss getting involved in the VRTs.

If you'd like career or recruitment advice, I'm happy to talk, anytime. My approach is consultative and all about you, so zero pressure.


Thanks Sarah, fab answers!


If you don't know Sarah yet, definitely go and say hi. And if you haven't yet joined a VRT session or spoken at one, absolutely go and do so.


I would love it if more people in the Recruitment side of this industry would come forward to grab a little spotlight and make themselves known. I know it would help a lot of people in the industry and also, like Sarah, they may have some ideas and community initiatives up their sleeve that can benefit us all.


Well that's all for today!


If you would like to sign up for a Tech Trump Card and mini-interview, visit the Tech Trump Card page on this site and click the 'Want one?' tab. There is a form...get filling it out!


99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page